Protest and penalty question

Please post any questions or comments regarding the class association rules, here.

Moderators: sderby, Tim Bosma, Tom Elsen

Post Reply
normbue
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:51 pm

Protest and penalty question

Post by normbue » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:50 pm

In a PHRF race last week, I was on a Starboard Tack and a boat on a Port tack cut right in front of me. I order to avoid the collision, I made a sharp turn to the right. But by the time I got the situation cleared and back on course, I had lost about 30 seconds and fell pretty far back in the pack. I protested him and he did the required 720 turn.
Now...He lost time by doing his punishment, but is there a way I can make up for the time I lost. It doesn't seem right that I should lose that time for his mistake.
I've looked thru the rules but do not find anywhere where this is addressed. It's happened before, but in those cases it didn't make much difference, but in this one it could've cost me the race.

Post Reply